MM439 Tri2 2017 Strategic Human Resource Management
Find peer reviewed journal articlesFind journal articles on my Reading ListUse 'Search'?
This is the "MM439 Tri2 2017 Strategic Human Resource Management" page of the "Management & Marketing" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Management & Marketing   Tags: management, marketing  

Last Updated: Aug 8, 2017 URL: http://une.au.libguides.com/management Print Guide RSS Updates

MM439 Tri2 2017 Strategic Human Resource Management Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

About this page

This page contains information directly relevant to MM439 Trimester 2 2017 Strategic Human Resource Management.

Some examples of search strategies in key databases are included, plus various tips. 

Make this a starting point.

 

TV News

TVNews icon

TVNews includes videos of Australian news, current affairs and documentaries from the free-to-air networks, e.g. ABC news - check the Title List.

Macintosh users will need to download the free Windows Media Components for QuickTime software to view these programs.

DatAnalysis Premium

Spacer

ProQuest Business

Spacer

ProQuest

Spacer

EBSCO

Spacer
 

Journals

Academy of Management Review

Asia Pacific Journal of Human Resources

Human Resource Management Journal

International Journal of Human Resource Management

 

Is my journal article from a peer reviewed journal?

What is peer review?

If a journal is peer reviewed (scholarly or refereed), its contents are reviewed and selected by a panel of experts. If the article meets strict guidelines, it may be accepted for publication. Peer reviewed journals hold more credibility and weight in academic circles than material taken from popular magazines.

We have a database which tells us if a specific journal is peer reviewed. It is called Ulrichsweb.

Go to the Library page.
'Quick find databases - By A-Z list'.
Select 'U', then Ulrichsweb.
Enter the title of the journal to determine if it is refereed.

Example

Freyens, B. P. (2010). Managing skill shortages in the australian public sector: Issues and perspectives. Asia Pacific Journal of Human Resources, 48(3), 262-286.

Asia Pacific Journal of Human Resources is the TITLE of the journal.
When you search for these journals in Ulrichsweb you will find the icon referees jumper indicating the journal is refereed (this symbol is actually a referee's jumper!).

 

Wikipedia

Wikipedia should be used with caution. Make use of the references and links at the end of the article.

Avoid citing Wikipedia in your essay: make it a starting point to gain an understanding of your topic.

Human Resource Management

 

Referencing style for MM453

The UNE Business School uses APA referencing and Chicago Author-Date styles. Unless indicated otherwise, either style can be used to reference assignments.

APA Referencing Style

Chicago Author-Date

ASO fact sheets

 

Getting started

Carefully read the Assignment details in your Moodle unit or homework question.

Analyse the topic and brainstorm relevant keywords to use in your search. Search tips:

  • Think about whether to search using quotation marks for a phrase (for example, "human resource management") or without. Using quotation marks will bring back much smaller number of results, but possibly more relevant. 
  • In many databases you can also use * (shift 8) to return various word endings, for example: Austral* returns Australia, Australian, Australians, etc.
  • Note down other relevant keywords as you conduct your searches and use these alternative terms in further searches.
  • Don't be afraid to vary your keywords and search strategies to return other various results.

Next step: think about the types of resources which may lead to information on this topic (e.g. newspapers, encyclopedias, books, journal articles, etc.) and where to find these resources (Library Search, databases, etc.).

 

TVNews

TVNews is an Australian database within Informit, of television news stories, current affairs and documentary program series screened since September 2007.

Titles

Titles include ABCnews, A Current Affair, Asia Pacific focus, Four corners, Inside Business, Landline, Lateline Business and many more.

To access the full title list go to TVNews Browse publications.

Access

UNE students can access TVNews through the Journals & Databases tab in this subject guide, the TVNews box to the left, and even through the Library's A-Z List of Databases. You will need your UNE Username and password. 

Searching

  • When you access TVNews, you will open the Simple search page. Use this Simple search for a quick keyword search. 
  • For more controlled searching, click on the 'Advanced Search' tab. 

 TV News advanced search example

  • Type your keywords into the first and second search box (for example, workforce AND planning). Note that there are options that you can choose, such as which fields to search in, date range and more.
  • If you want to have more search terms then click on Add more terms to have more search boxes.
  • If you want to search within certain programs then choose Program Title instead of 'Any field' and type, for example, ABCnews.
  • Click Search when ready.
  • Brief information is provided in the results list. To see more details use the Complete record link. Click on the purple play icon to play or save a video clip. 
 

DatAnalysis Premium (Morningstar)

DatAnalysis Premium provides information on companies listed on the Australian Securities Exchange. 

 

Access

UNE students can access DatAnalysis through the Journals & Databases tab in this subject guide, theDatAnalysis box to the left, and even through the Library's A-Z List of Databases. You will need your UNE Username and password. 

Searching

  • When you access DatAnalysis, you will open the Home page with a basic search in the top right corner. Use this basic search for a quick keyword search, e.g. QANTAS. 

DatAnalysis basic search

 

  • Click search. If there is more than one result, DatAnalysis will take you to a hits page. Click on the relevant title. If there is only one result, DatAnalysis will take you to that company information. Use the options in the left-hand column, or click on 'Company summary' or 'Full report' for more details.

DatAnalysis search result- company information with QANTAS example

  • DatAnalysis has multiple search options, including an 'advanced search'. To access, go to 'Search tool' tab, and click on 'Advanced Search'.
 

ProQuest Business

ProQuest Business includes academic and non-academic content focusing on business and finance. 

 

Access

UNE students can access ProQuest Business through the Journals & Databases tab in this subject guide, the ProQuest Business box to the left, and even through the Library's A-Z List of Databases. You will need your UNE Username and password. 

Searching

  • When you access ProQuest Business, you will open the Basic search page. Use this Basic search for a quick keyword search. 
  • For more controlled searching, click on 'Advanced search'.

Advanced Search

  • From your topic list the keywords that you could use, for example if looking for journal articles on QANTAS, you might search: QANTAS AND workplace AND (education OR development OR "learning initiative")  (where OR will return either term).
  • ProQuest Business has the option of returning peer-reviewed articles, if you wish. To search for peer-reviewed articles, make sure the 'peer reviewed' and the 'scholarly journals' options are ticked.
  • Click search.

ProQuest Business Advanced search

  • ProQuest Business will return various results that match the keywords: many will not be relevant, but some may be.
  • To vary your search, click on 'modify search' to go back to the 'advanced search' page.
  • Click on the 'Full text' link where available. If the Full text is not available, try the UNE Find It icon. 

Data & Reports

  • You can also use the 'Data & Reports' tab to search for company information.

 

 

Newspapers online

Online newspapers at UNE are held in two main databases:  ProQuest & EBSCO

1) ProQuest

Select ProQuest from the database list in the Management & Marketing Subject Guide.

Click on the ‘News & Newspapers’ icon. News & Newspapers

For Australian content, click on the Search next to ‘ProQuest Australia & New Zealand Newsstream’.

Australia & New Zealand Newsstand

Use the 'advanced search' for more controlled searching. Type your keywords into the search box, for example: "human resource management" and then change the drop down box to Document text-FT.

You can also set a 'publication date' range, for example select 'after this date' and enter a relevant year (for example, 2010 if you need last 5 years). Click  search.

Newsstream advanced search

You will be presented with a list of results. You can refine this list using the options in the left-hand column, for example, under 'source type' click newspapers. In addition, you can use 'publication title' to select a specific newspaper.

Click on ‘modify search’ if you need to edit the search.


2) EBSCO

Select EBSCO from the database list in the Management & Marketing Library Subject Guide.

EBSCO search

Type your keywords into the search boxes. Click search.

In the search results, use the left-hand column to refine your results- change the Publication Date if needed, for example, 2011 to 2016.

Now go to ‘Source types’ and select ‘News’.

Note that there are other options that you could refine your results by- by Publication (you can select a specific newspaper, like ‘The Australian’), by Publication Date, and more.

CRICOS Provider Code 00003G
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip