This is the "QuickTips" page of the "eSkills 2.0 Completing your essay: Text Version" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

eSkills 2.0 Completing your essay: Text Version   Tags: eskills, evaluation, information, research, studying  

Last Updated: Jun 8, 2017 URL: http://une.au.libguides.com/eskills2/essay/text Print Guide RSS Updates

QuickTips Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

QuickTips

QuickTips logo

More Library QuickTips added regularly

Comments and suggestions for QuickTips:
QuickTips@une.edu.au

 

Welcome to Library QuickTips

Library QuickTips are short, informative interactive videos with useful tips on anything relating to finding and using Library resources effectively: using Search, finding journal articles, finding course readings, borrowing, and many more. The interactive videos link directly to related resources for more detailed information.

Follow the Library Twitter account to receive notification of, and links to, each new Library QuickTip: twitter.com/UNELibrary

 

Library QuickTips

YouTubeAccessible

Date Title TouchCast Link
(Interactive)
YouTube link
(not interactive)
Accessible
(text) version
20/05/2015 Library subject guides TouchCast YouTube Accessible
10/06/2015 Is it peer reviewed?
TouchCast YouTube Accessible
24/06/2015 Encyclopedias & dictionaries TouchCast YouTube Accessible
22/07/2015 eReserve readings TouchCast YouTube Accessible
23/09/2015 Borrowing elsewhere TouchCast YouTube Accessible
18/11/2015 Oxford English dictionary online Touchcast YouTube Accessible
5/01/2016 Export Scopus references to EndNote TouchCast YouTube Accessible
7/01/2016 Library help TouchCast YouTube Accessible
24/02/2016 Request book loan: online students TouchCast YouTube Accessible
24/02/2016 Request digitisation: book chapter
TouchCast YouTube Accessible
25/05/2016 Request digitisation: journal article TouchCast YouTube Accessible
11/03/2016 Quick find books TouchCast YouTube Accessible
31/05/2016 Sign-in to Search TouchCast YouTube Accessible
24/10/2016 Quick find journal articles TouchCast YouTube Accessible
8/01/2017 Past exam papers TouchCast 
8/06/2017 Google Scholar
TouchCast  YouTube Accessible
8/06/2017 Primary Sources
TouchCast  YouTube Accessible
8/06/2017 Library@Lunch TouchCast  YouTube Accessible
 

Library QuickTips: Introduction

Hello everyone. Welcome to the first Library QuickTips post.

New Library QuickTips are added regularly. These are in the form of a short video with the addition of a text version which you can read below.

With the TouchCast video format we can do a live demonstrations. The video can insert 'live' webpages, or other videos. This is an effective way to demonstrate how to use Search, databases, or other library resource for example. The other great feature, when viewed in the TouchCast platform, is interactivity. You can tap (or click) on the screen and be linked directly to a webpage, or YouTube for example. Then you can tap again to come back to the QuickTip video.

Library QuickTips will be communicated via Twitter each week, but you can always come to the QuickTips webpage to find links to all videos and to the text version.

You can access the videos using the menu on the Library QuickTips main page.

Don’t forget to check out the interactive eSkills modules as well (using the tabs across the top of this screen) for even more useful information about how to get the most out of your library.

Follow the Library Twitter account: http://twitter.com/UNELibrary

Back to menu

 

Library Subject Guides

Library Subject Guides have been created by your Subject Librarian to help you get started with your essays.  Subject Guides contain links to specific subject specialist encyclopedias and dictionaries, access to the most useful journals and databases for your area, websites, news feeds and multimedia, assignment help pages for select units and helpful online tutorials on how to find journal articles and peer reviewed journals.

To access these Guides:

  1. From the library homepage www.une.edu.au/library click on Subject and General Guides in the lower left corner
  2. Find your subject area from the index
  3. Click on the tabs at the top to select from a list of subject specialist Encyclopedias, books and ebooks, Journals and Databases, statistics and multimedia

Follow the Library Twitter account: http://twitter.com/UNELibrary

Back to menu

 

Finding Peer reviewed journals

Finding Scholarly including Peer reviewed articles

Library Search allows you to Refine your search to ensure the articles are from scholarly (including peer reviewed) sources.

• From the Library homepage
• Scroll down to Search
• Enter a search, for example, Climate change
• Click on search
On the results page, tick the checkbox to Peer review articles (located on the left hand side)

Search will update the search results with the new limit.

While this limit will return scholarly articles, to ensure an article is from a Peer reviewed Journal, use Ulrichsweb to cross check the journal publication.

Using Ulrichsweb

Ulrichsweb contains bibliographic and publisher information on more than 300,000 Journals. It is one of the databases listed in the A-Z list.

• Go to Quick search databases by A-Z list on the Library homepage
• Scroll down to U
• use the + (plus sign) to expand the list of databases located under U
• Select Ulrichsweb
Enter the Journal Title into the search box

For example, enter Zoological Science

• Click on Search
• Look for the referee symbol in the results list

The “referee” symbol (icon of a striped jumper) indicates the Journal is Peer reviewed (or refereed). This is located within the results list on the same line as the Journal Title. Ulrichsweb has 4 columns prior to the Journal title details.  The referee symbol is located in the second column.  If there is no referee symbol in the second column, the Journal Title is not Peer reviewed (or refereed).

Back to menu

 

Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

This week’s QuickTip is on how to find Encyclopedias and Dictionaries in the UNE Library. This kind of reference material is very useful for finding definitions or background information on topics; for example, the literary term ‘unreliable narrator’.

  1. On the Library homepage go to 'Find', and then click on 'Encyclopedias & Dictionaries'.
  2. In this webpage, you can search directly in one of the collections, for example Oxford reference.
  3. Or you can search in the Search box limited to reference works such as encyclopaedias and dictionaries. Type your search in the search box, for example, unreliable narrator, and click 'Submit'. 
  4. This will return a results page that will have the 'Content type' limited to ‘reference’. Browse through the results until you find a relevant title, and then click the title for access or more details.

For more information on Encyclopedias, Dictionaries and other reference material, try the Encyclopedias & References Subject Guide.

Back to menu

 

eReserve Readings

This week's topic is how to find eReserve readings for your unit. Your unit coordinators may place readings for your unit in the Library's eReserve. If so, this is how to find them.

  1. Start from the Library homepage
  2. Under the FIND menu locate eReserve.
    Note: on mobile devices the FIND and other menu items are found under the menu icon at the top right of the library webpage. On computers the FIND and other menus remain in the grey bar across the top of the page.
  3. Log in with your student username and password
  4. Use the unit code to search. For example, PAIS314 or ANCH110

If there are eReserve readings for the unit, the number of items will be noted.

  1. Click the link to see the full list
  2. Use the title or author to find reading you are seeking
  3. Click the link to open, then download the PDF

Follow the Library Twitter account: http://twitter.com/UNELibrary

Back to menu

 

Borrowing Elsewhere

Did you know that you can borrow books from Libraries at other universities?

If you’re a distance student and you live near another university, you can join the National Borrowing Scheme and enjoy some borrowing rights. You will find information about the scheme under Borrowing on the Library homepage.

Almost all universities are members – see the ULANZ list to check. Some restrictions may apply, and will not include electronic resources.

Apply directly to the university near you. You will need photo ID and proof of enrolment at UNE. Some universities may charge a fee – 50% of the fee is refundable by UNE (up to a maximum of $25).

Back to menu

 

Oxford English Dictionary online

This week's Quicktip is on the Oxford English Dictionary online! The OED online looks at 600,000 words … 3 million quotations … it looks at over 1000 years of English. It's basically a record of the English language and it's an excellent resource and highly recommended.

To find it, go to the UNE Library homepage: http://www.une.edu.au/library

In the Search box type: oxford english dictionary online

Click search.

In the Search results page, click on the relevant title: The Oxford English dictionary online

This will take you to the OED online.

 

To search, simply type your keyword in the search box.

An example of an interesting search is the word ‘scab’ in relation to strikes and unions. Type ‘scab’ and click search.

In this context, the noun is relevant, so click on the full entry next to the relevant result: scab, n.  View full entry

Scrolling through the results, you can see the relevant entry (at section 4.b). The first time the word ‘scab’ was recorded in relation to strikes was 1777.

Back to menu

 

Library Help

Library Help

Need help some research assistance for your essay? 

Library staff can help by providing research assistance:

  • phone for on-campus students: 02 6773 2458
  • Phone for online students: 1800 059 735
  • Ask-a-Librarian for email response
  • Book-a-Librarian for one-on-one time with a Librarian
  • Chat for immediate response.

Please find links on the Library homepage under Contact Details.

Back to menu

 

Request book loan: online students

Online students can request book loans directly from the Library Search results.

  1. Find the book you would like to borrow
  2. Open the 'Get It' tab
  3. Towards the right is 'Sign-in for more options'
  4. Once signed-in, the 'Request' link is visible
  5. Select location for book to be sent: 'home address'
  6. Enter a date for 'Do not send to me after'
  7. Click 'Submit' to complete the request
  8. Check 'My Account' to confirm your request.

Note: the Request option will not appear for local students, unless the item is out on loan, then Request can be used to put a Recall on the item.

Back to menu

 

Request digitisation - book chapter: online students

Online students can request digitisation of chapters directly from the Library Search results.

  1. First, find the book that has your required chapter
  2. Open the 'Get It' tab
  3. Towards the right: ‘Sign-in for more options
  4. Once you have signed-in, the 'Digitisation' link will be visible
  5. Enter the chapter or page range you would like digitised
  6. Enter a date for 'Do not send to me after'
  7. Click 'Submit' and your request has been made
  8. Check 'My Account' to confirm your request

Note: Digitisation is not an option for local students so the link will not appear for these students.

Back to menu

 

Request digitisation - journal article: online students

Online students can request digitisation of Journal Articles that we hold in print but not electronically.

For example:
   The politics of pedagogy. Evans, J ; Penny, D. Journal of Education Policy, 1995, Vol. 10(1), p.27-44

The article is not found in Library Search, but UNE may have the print version of the journal

  1. From the library homepage: http://www.une.edu.au/library open Quick Search Journals A-Z list
  2. Enter the journal title: Journal of Education Policy, and click Search
  3. One result is labelled Online. The print version has a Get It link.
  4. Open the Get It tab to see holdings: 1989 to 2009.
  5. ‘Sign in for more options’
  6. Select Digitisation, and enter title, author, volume, year and page numbers.
  7. Enter a date for ‘Do not send after…’ and Submit.

The article will be scanned and emailed to your UNE email address. Check My Account to see progress of the request.

Back to menu

 

Quick find books

Using Library Search to find books.

  1. Enter the title of the book into the search field.
  2. Use quotation marks to narrow the search: E.g. “Soil health and climate change”
  3. Click search. (The book appears in the results list. It is available online, and has a physical copy in Dixson Library.)
  4. Click the View It tab to link through to eBook version (where available).
  5. If a hardcopy of the book is held in the library, click the Get It tab to see availability and the call number.

(see above for instructions on requesting loans for online students)

Back to menu

 

Sign-in to Search

Signing-in to Library Search serves many functions.

You can sign-in from 'My Account' on the library homepage.

Or use the 'Sign-in' at the top right of the page when in Search.

There are a number of very good reasons to use the sign-in.

  1. Signing-in ensures that you see the full range of resources available to you in the search results
  2. Signing-in lets you view your Account. Here you can check due dates, and renew loans
  3. Check the progress of digitisation requests
  4. Manage your eShelf
  5. Sign-in enables loan and digitisation requests for eligible students

For a multimedia tutorial on using library Search click here

Back to menu

 

Quick find journal articles

Looking for a journal article from your reading list?

  1. Go to Search on the Library homepage: http://www.une.edu.au/library
  2. Enter the title of the article. Use quotation marks for an exact search. (Note: usually the first 5 or 6 words of the title will be enough)
  3. Click Search.
  4. Locate the article in the results.
  5. Click View It.
  6. Click the database link. For example, EBSCO, ProQuest, Springer, etc. Databases are where journals are held electronically.
  7. In the database page, use the PDF Download or Full Text link to access the full text of the article.

For more on Journals and Databases see eSkills 2.0.

Back to menu

 

Past Exam Papers

Some units have past exams available to aid your study.

  1. From the library homepage, under the FIND menu, click Past Exams.
  2. Enter the unit code here.
  3. Click on Past Exams and select from the available options.

Back to menu

 

Google Scholar

Are you a bit of a Google Scholar user? Did you know you can go via the Library's webpage? Just look for the green Google tab. Check the radio button is on Google Scholar and type your search terms.

[Computer voice : castles europe]

Now when you're in Google Scholar, it will be checking the holdings at UNE.

So, remember, when you're thinking Google Scholar, think Library website.

And if you need any help finding information, don't hesitate to Ask A Librarian.

 

Primary Sources

Have you ever been required to include primary sources in your assignment?

What are primary sources? They're things captured at the time that the events happened. A diary written, a map made. And you can use the Library to find such sources.

One thing you can do, is, under the Find tab on our webpage go to the Subject Guides and look at the guide for News and Newspapers.

On the About Us tab you can also find Special Collections. UNE Library holds such collections.

Remember, if you are looking for primary sources, or anything else, don't hesitate to Ask A Librarian.

 

Library@Lunch

Hi! Have you heard about "Library@Lunch"? It's a series of webinars, designed to meet your information needs.

You can find them on our webpage. Look under Book A Room Or Workshop. Upcoming webinars are listed and you can also go to recordings of past sessions.

So, why don't you join the Library@Lunch?

CRICOS Provider Code 00003G
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip