This is the "Open Access eBook Collections" page of the "eBooks" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Last Updated: Jun 5, 2017 URL: http://une.au.libguides.com/eBooks Print Guide RSS Updates

Open Access eBook Collections Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

What is Open Access?

The Australian Law Dictionary describes Open Access (OA):

" On the Internet open-access information and material is made available, usually online, free of most copyright and licensing restrictions."

The Library Guide to Open Access provides detailed information on the access and benefits of supporting Open Access as a researcher.

Further information on OA can be found here.

 

Open Access eBooks Collections

eBook Collection          Description

Format notes

       Bartleby logo                                                                                                

Bartleby holds complete volumes of Harvard Classics, both fiction and non fiction, available to read online.

This includes works from Confucius to Plutarch, Vergil to Don Quixote, Darwin's Origin of the Species, the Scientific Papers of Louis Pasteur to Mary Wollstonecroft and A Vindication of the Rights of Women.

                                                                              
                          

eBooks are accessible online within a web browser if listed as "Full View".

Downloads are not required.

                                   

Classical Chinese Literature logo

Classical Chinese Literature provides a select range of texts with each character hyperlinked to its English definition and etymology.

The complete list of titles include Tao Te Ching, The Art of War, Tang Poems, The Analects, The Doctrine of the Mean, The Great Learning and Classic Filial Piety.

No Chinese software is necessary, characters are displayed as images.

Complete works of classic literature have been brought together in this collection.

Classic Literature Library include the complete works of Shakespeare, Dickens, Verne and Sir Arthur Conan Doyle. Search for title or author using the Literature Search box.

Open within a web browser.

Downloads are not required.

Digital Public Libraries of America logo

DPLA brings together the digitised content of America’s libraries, archives, and museums, and aims to make them freely available.

Contributing libraries include the New York Public Library, Harvard University and the Library of Congress.

Search DPLA for title, author or subject. From the results page, refine your search by selecting Text and then click on View Object. This will link out to the owning institution's library record. Under the heading 'Viewability' there will be a link to either the Full View of the ebook or Limited Availability. Full view will open the digitised ebook within a web browser.

 

eBooks are accessible online within a web browser if listed as "Full View".

Downloads are not required.

Europeana logo

Europeana provides access to millions of books, paintings, films, museum objects and archival records that have been digitised throughout Europe. 

Contributing institutions include the British Library and national libraries from many countries.

Search by creator, title or subject using the Search box drop down feature and then entering your topic. In the results area, refine the search by selecting Text under  Media Type and selecting Public Domain (or similar) underneath Copyright.  Click on the thumbnail book image to open and view the digitised book.

Access is limited to Public Domain material.  eBooks will appear as PDF or within a web browser.

Free eBooks logo

Free-Ebooks holds a wide selection of reading material including non-fiction, academic material  and some government produced material.

Search Free-Ebooks using the Categories button at the top or enter a preferred Author and Title in the search box.

The majority of eBooks are offered in either HTML, TXT, PDF, ePUB or MobiPocket (.PRC) formats.

 

Google Boooks logo

If a book is out of copyright, or the publisher has given permission, Google Books will provide a preview of the book, and in some cases the full text.

Google Books preview can be useful for access to whole chapters or selections of chapters within books.

If the eBook is in the public domain, it is free to download a PDF copy.

Great Books and Classics is an index gateway to a substantial classics collection linking out to other sites such as Bartleby. The index lists a wide range of international classic literature including titles from Ancient Greece, India, Asia and Europe.

This index will assist in finding the full text of The Vedas and Upanishads, explore Homer and Archimedes through to H. G Wells and Yeats.  This collection lists titles from prior 2000 BC to 1900. 

Search using Author, Title and Date lists.

Access depends on the eBook provider.  Many will open within a browser, some will offer PDF and other formats.

Project Gutenberg logo

Project Gutenberg accesses over 48,000 eBooks.

Browse by title, author, top 100 or recently added eBooks. Search for specific titles, authors and subjects. 

Project Gutenberg includes works by well known authors like Kakfa, Twain, Austen, Wells, Dante, Nietsche and Indrajit.


Most eBooks are text based however other formats are included, such as HTML, PDF, EPUB, MOBI, and Plucker where possible.

Project Gutenberg of Australia logo

PGA provides books which are in the public domain within Australia.

Authors listed are those who died before 1955 such as George Orwell (died 1950), Virginia Woolf (died 1941), and James Joyce (died 1941).

For txt or html files, use Notepad or open a browser.

Read eBooks on Windows, Linux and Android without converting to EPUB format -- get Cool Reader or FBReader.

Read eBooks on iPad, iPhone and iPod without converting to EPUB format -- get Tomes.

The Online Books Pages links to much of the same material as can be found in DPLA. Search through over 2 million digitised books.

The search feature for this collection may be simpler to use than DPLA.

eBooks are accessible online within a web browser if listed as "Full View".

Downloads are not required.

CRICOS Provider Code 00003G
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip