Upgrading EndNote
Adding references manuallyAdding attachmentsImporting PDFsUsing Library SearchDirect export from databasesImporting with a filterExporting from Google ScholarFinding Full TextChecking for duplicate recordsBacking up your library
Backing up your libraryEditing recordsCopying and deleting recordsSearching your librarySorting your libraryCreating groupsProducing a reading list
Journal abbreviationsVancouver styleAGLC3 styleAGPSFootnoting
Output stylesInserting referencesFormatting citationsRemoving field codesBibliographies
BibliographiesSyncingHandling PDFsPowerPoint
Downloading referencesEndnote and WordFootnotingJournal abbreviationsOutput styles troubleshootingTraining
This is the "Direct export from databases" page of the "EndNote X7 for PC" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

A guide that explains the EndNote bibliographic software program including downloading, setting and managing a library, and using EndNote and Word.
Last Updated: Jun 23, 2017 URL: http://une.au.libguides.com/endnote Print Guide RSS Updates

Direct export from databases Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Direct export from databases

Direct Export allows you to  export a reference from the database directly into your EndNote library. Generally, databases that have this export function, will display terms such as direct export, export directly to EndNote, export to reference manager etc. The imported references will appear in a temporary window in your EndNote library. Check that all the required data has been imported correctly.

Steps generally include:

  1. Searching a database
  2. Marking the records you want to save
  3. Selecting the database's direct export option
  4. Selecting the EndNote library you wish to export the records to

Direct export from the ProQuest database

Click in the boxes beside records to "mark" those references. Choose the More menu at the top right of the search results, then click on the RIS option.

Export options RIS

In the next dialogue box, check that RIS is selected as Output, choose the level of information you would like exported to EndNote, and click on Continue.

Export dialogue box

If you see a dialogue box asking you what to do with the references, choose to open the file.

Select Open

In the EndNote library, check that all the required data has been imported. The references will be in a temporary Imported References group. Click on the All References group in the My Library pane of EndNote to view all references.

See the Downloading References page for instructions on major databases.

CRICOS Provider Code 00003G
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip