Upgrading EndNote
Adding references manuallyAdding attachmentsImporting PDFsUsing Library SearchDirect export from databasesImporting with a filterExporting from Google ScholarFinding Full TextChecking for duplicate recordsBacking up your library
Backing up your libraryEditing recordsCopying and deleting recordsSearching your librarySorting your libraryCreating groupsProducing a reading list
Journal abbreviationsVancouver styleAGLC3 styleAGPSFootnoting
Output stylesInserting referencesFormatting citationsRemoving field codesBibliographies
BibliographiesSyncingHandling PDFsPowerPoint
Downloading referencesEndnote and WordFootnotingJournal abbreviationsOutput styles troubleshootingTraining
This is the "Finding Full Text" page of the "EndNote X7 for PC" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

A guide that explains the EndNote bibliographic software program including downloading, setting and managing a library, and using EndNote and Word.
Last Updated: Jun 23, 2017 URL: http://une.au.libguides.com/endnote Print Guide RSS Updates

Finding Full Text Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Finding full text

This EndNote feature allows you to select references in your EndNote library and then tell EndNote to search for PDF copies of journal articles. If EndNote finds a matching PDF, it will attach it to the reference and store the PDF in your Data folder.

EndNote’s Find Full Text feature will only work for University of New England's-subscribed full text resources, as well as some open access resources. Not all University subscribed resources are able to be retrieved using this feature. Find Full Text works best when you are looking for journal articles or conference papers, not books.

Setting up EndNote to locate full text

From EndNote go to Edit >Preferences >Find Full Text

·         Check the box for DOI and OpenURL. Leave the PubMed box unchecked unless you are interested in the biological and medical sciences. This will make the search much faster.

·         Type in the OpenURL Path: http://alma.exlibrisgroup.com/view/uresolver/61UNE/openurl

·         Type in the Authenticate with URL: https://ezproxy.une.edu.au/login?url=

·         Click Apply and then OK

Find Full text

EndNote records which include a Digital Object Identifier (DOI) within the DOI field will more successfully retrieve full text. When downloading citations from databases ensure you include the DOI in the records.

 

Using the full text features

To Find Full Text for a particular journal reference:

  • Select a reference (or a number of references)
  • Go to References in the top tool bar > Find Full Text > Find Full Text
  • Log in with your UNE username and password and initially you may see a list of UNE databases. Click the Continue button.
  • Agree to the copyright disclaimer by clicking OK.

Look under the Find Full Text heading at the bottom left column of your EndNote Library. This will indicate the progress in Searching and the software will then tell you if the article has been found successfully or not found.

Full text articles will be attached automatically to the relevant records. If EndNote cannot download the PDF article it may provide a URL link so you can retrieve the article yourself.

CRICOS Provider Code 00003G
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip