Upgrading EndNote
Adding references manuallyAdding attachmentsImporting PDFsUsing Library SearchDirect export from databasesImporting with a filterExporting from Google ScholarFinding Full TextChecking for duplicate recordsBacking up your library
Backing up your libraryEditing recordsCopying and deleting recordsSearching your librarySorting your libraryCreating groupsProducing a reading list
Journal abbreviationsVancouver styleAGLC3 styleAGPSFootnoting
Output stylesInserting referencesFormatting citationsRemoving field codesBibliographies
BibliographiesSyncingHandling PDFsPowerPoint
Downloading referencesEndnote and WordFootnotingJournal abbreviationsOutput styles troubleshootingTraining
This is the "Importing with a filter" page of the "EndNote X7 for PC" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

A guide that explains the EndNote bibliographic software program including downloading, setting and managing a library, and using EndNote and Word.
Last Updated: Jun 23, 2017 URL: http://une.au.libguides.com/endnote Print Guide RSS Updates

Importing with a filter Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Filters

What is a filter?

A filter is a piece of software that translates records downloaded from an online database into a format that EndNote can understand. The filter tells EndNote exactly how to interpret a downloaded record by mapping each field in the record to the appropriate field in an EndNote entry (such as Author, Title, Keywords). Each database platform has its own way to organise data, so there is a different filter for each platform.

Finding filters

Some filters for UNE-subscribed databases are not in Endnote. Filters for UNE-subscribed databases and other filters (for Amazon or AbeBooks for example) can be found on the EndNote site.

Using filters

Assistance with how to use each filter can be found in two places:

  • on the Library's downloading from databases page.
  • from the EndNote Filter Manager. To learn more about any individual filter, open EndNote and then click Edit>Import filters>Open Filter Manager. Select the name of a filter and details about its use will appear at the bottom of the screen.

Important advice

Filters must be inserted into the correct folder, typically C:\Program files\EndNoteX7Filters. If the filter is not in the correct folder, you will not be able to access the filter from the Import Manager when using EndNote.

Macintosh users should note the procedure for downloading a filter is to right-click (or CTRL-click) on the filter icon, then choose download linked file or save linked file from the menu which appears. Then save the filter to the Filters folder inside the EndNote folder.

CRICOS Provider Code 00003G
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip