Upgrading EndNote
Adding references manuallyAdding attachmentsImporting PDFsUsing Library SearchDirect export from databasesImporting with a filterExporting from Google ScholarFinding Full TextChecking for duplicate recordsBacking up your library
Backing up your libraryEditing recordsCopying and deleting recordsSearching your librarySorting your libraryCreating groupsProducing a reading list
Journal abbreviationsVancouver styleAGLC3 styleAGPSFootnoting
Output stylesInserting referencesFormatting citationsRemoving field codesBibliographies
BibliographiesSyncingHandling PDFsPowerPoint
Downloading referencesEndnote and WordFootnotingJournal abbreviationsOutput styles troubleshootingTraining
This is the "Bibliographies" page of the "EndNote X7 for PC" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

A guide that explains the EndNote bibliographic software program including downloading, setting and managing a library, and using EndNote and Word.
Last Updated: Jun 23, 2017 URL: http://une.au.libguides.com/endnote Print Guide RSS Updates

Bibliographies Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Creating bibliographies

The default setting for most output styles in EndNote is to create a complete bibliography at the end of each document. However, with some output styles you have the options of creating a bibliography for each section or a bibliography for each section with a complete bibliography at the end of the document.

Changing the bibliography setting for your output style

To change the bibliography setting of the style you are using, go to Edit, select Output Styles and then click on Edit "Style" (where "Style" is the name of the Output Style you are using, e.g. Author-Date). Click on the Sections option on the left pane and select the desired settings for your style and then save.

NOTE: Not all output styles will have all options of bibliographies available to them.

screenshot endnote editing style

 

Now, in your Microsoft word document, to get the chapter bibliographies to appear, you need to make sure you have the document broken up into sections (or chapters). Go to the Insert menu OR Page Layout tab, click on Breaks and then choose the most relevant option. 

 

Producing a Bibliography or Reading List

You can use EndNote to produce bibliographies. This is how you use the references in your library to generate a reading list for students, or a list of references for a colleague, or perhaps a list of your own publications for your CV.

Make sure that you have your preferred output style selected.  While holding down the Ctrl key, select a number of references from your library. Click on References on the top menu bar and then click on Show Selected References. You should now be able to see only those references which you selected.

To generate a bibliography from these references using the style that you have selected, click on the Export button endnote export icon on the library toolbar.

You will now see a dialogue box. Save the exported references to a convenient folder. In the Save as type box, click on the arrow to select Rich Text Format. In the Output Style box, make sure that your chosen style is selected:

screenshot export file

 

Categorise References in Bibliography

To produce a bibliography with different categories such as Primary Sources and Secondary Sources.

  • While in your Word doc, with the EndNote tab selected, open the Categorise References menu, then select Configure Categories
  • This will open a dialogue box listing the references currently in your document
  • In the left panel are predefined categories of Primary Sources and Secondary Sources (click on the heading to rename if required)
  • Select Category Headings (near the top) to add more categories
  • Select Uncategorised References to display that list
  • Drag references to the appropriate Category Heading
  • Click OK
CRICOS Provider Code 00003G
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip