Upgrading EndNote
Adding references manuallyAdding attachmentsImporting PDFsUsing Library SearchDirect export from databasesImporting with a filterExporting from Google ScholarFinding Full TextChecking for duplicate recordsBacking up your library
Backing up your libraryEditing recordsCopying and deleting recordsSearching your librarySorting your libraryCreating groupsProducing a reading list
Output stylesInserting referencesFormatting citationsRemoving field codesBibliographies
Journal abbreviationsVancouver styleAGLC3 styleAGPSFootnoting
BibliographiesSyncingHandling PDFs
Downloading referencesEndNote and WordFootnotingJournal abbreviationsOutput stylesTraining
This is the "Direct export from databases" page of the "EndNote X7 for Macs" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

EndNote X7 for Macs   Tags: endnote  

Last Updated: May 18, 2017 URL: http://une.au.libguides.com/endnotemac Print Guide RSS Updates

Direct export from databases Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Direct export from databases

Direct Export allows you to export a reference from a database directly into your EndNote library. Generally, databases that have this export function, will display terms such as direct export, export to EndNote, export to reference manager etc. The exported references will appear in a temporary 'Imported References' window. Check that all the required data has been imported correctly.

Steps generally include:

  1. Searching a database
  2. Marking the records you want to save
  3. Selecting the database's direct export option
  4. Selecting the EndNote library you wish to export the records to

Direct export from the ProQuest database

Select boxes beside records to 'mark' those references. Choose the More menu at the top right of the search results, then click on the RIS option.

Export menu

In the next dialogue box, check that RIS is selected as Output, choose the level of citation information you would like exported to EndNote, and click on Continue.

Next, choose Open with EndNote. If this is the first time exporting, you may need to navigate to EndNote via the Applications folder by selecting 'Choose' as in the diagram below.

Open dialogue box

Note: if you choose Save File, the ProQuestDocumentsdate.ris file will be in your Downloads folder. Double click on ProQuestDocumentsdate.ris to open the reference(s) in your EndNote Library.

In the EndNote library check that all the required data has been imported. The references you have just imported will be in a temporary Imported References group. Click on the All References group in the My Library pane of EndNote to view all references.

See the Downloading References page for instructions for major databases.

CRICOS Provider Code 00003G
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip