Upgrading EndNote
Adding references manuallyAdding attachmentsImporting PDFsUsing Library SearchDirect export from databasesImporting with a filterExporting from Google ScholarFinding Full TextChecking for duplicate recordsBacking up your library
Backing up your libraryEditing recordsCopying and deleting recordsSearching your librarySorting your libraryCreating groupsProducing a reading list
Output stylesInserting referencesFormatting citationsRemoving field codesBibliographies
Journal abbreviationsVancouver styleAGLC3 styleAGPSFootnoting
BibliographiesSyncingHandling PDFs
Downloading referencesEndNote and WordFootnotingJournal abbreviationsOutput stylesTraining
This is the "Bibliographies" page of the "EndNote X7 for Macs" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

EndNote X7 for Macs   Tags: endnote  

Last Updated: May 18, 2017 URL: http://une.au.libguides.com/endnotemac Print Guide RSS Updates

Bibliographies Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Section Bibliographies X7

EndNote X7 contains an additional output style option for Microsoft Word, so you can choose to create a complete bibliography at the end of each section with APA 6th (sections).

To add, go to Bibliographic Output Style and then click 'select another style'. Choose from the list of styles APA 6th (sections). 

Choose a Style

Now, in your Microsoft word document, to get the chapter bibliographies to appear, you need to make sure you have the document broken up into sections (or chapters). Go to the Insert menu, click on Break and then choose the most relevant option.

 

Bibliography Subheadings (ENX7)

With EndNote X7 you can create a bibliography with different subheadings organized by:

    • Reference types
      • e.g. journal articles, books, etc.- this can be done by creating a Category template in EndNote.
    • Subject categories
      • This must be done AFTER you have created the bibliography, by configuring categories in Microsoft Word.

1. Creating a Reference type style template (EndNote)

Go to your EndNote library, click on Edit and select Output styles then select Open Style Manager. Select a relevant style (e.g. APA 6th ) from the EndNote Styles list and click Edit. Go to Bibliography and select Categories to open a blank style template.

Type your categories reference types in the text box template (e.g. Journal articles) and then insert the corresponding reference type by clicking the insert reference type button (e.g. above journal articles reference type you will have typed the heading Journal Articles).

Create a Reference type style template using Style Manager

When you have finished, go to file menu and select Save As. Save the filename with a different name (e.g. APA6th style). Click save and close.

Now go to your Word document, and select your altered style (e.g. APA6th style).

2.  Creating Subject categories (Microsoft Word)

Go to your word document, and click on Tools > EndNote X7 and then find Categorise References and click Configure Categories.

Click on the (+) button to create your categories. Using the drag and drop method, assign your references to the correct subject categories that you have created.

Configure Categories

Continue until all the references are assigned (you can check the "not yet assigned to a category" section to make sure all are assigned).

Note: You can revert back to the default APA 6th style by clicking on Categorize References and then un-ticking Group References by Custom Categories.

CRICOS Provider Code 00003G
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip