Upgrading EndNote
Adding references manuallyAdding attachmentsImporting PDFsUsing Library SearchDirect export from databasesImporting with a filterExporting from Google ScholarFinding Full TextChecking for duplicate recordsBacking up your library
Backing up your libraryEditing recordsCopying and deleting recordsSearching your librarySorting your libraryCreating groupsProducing a reading list
Output stylesInserting referencesFormatting citationsRemoving field codesBibliographies
Journal abbreviationsVancouver styleAGLC3 styleAGPSFootnoting
BibliographiesSyncingHandling PDFs
Downloading referencesEndNote and WordFootnotingJournal abbreviationsOutput stylesTraining
This is the "Avoiding Problems" page of the "EndNote X7 for Macs" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

EndNote X7 for Macs   Tags: endnote  

Last Updated: May 18, 2017 URL: http://une.au.libguides.com/endnotemac Print Guide RSS Updates

Avoiding Problems Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

EndNote and Problems

EndNote is a very useful tool for managing research and including references in word documents. However, the UNE University Library has often been contacted by students and staff who have come across various problems: ranging from simple data entry mistakes to corruption of the word document and /or EndNote Library, and even the loss of their EndNote Library and/or word document.

Below are some of the common problems and advice on how to avoid and/or fix them. If you cannot fix them, please check the Support-FAQ-Help pages linked below or contact the UNE University Library:

Support-FAQ-Help

  Downloading references
   EndNote and Word
   Footnoting
   Journal abbreviations
   Output styles
   Training

 

Avoiding storage issues

Compress a copy of your library

A few years back one of our postgraduate students lost his computer. He had no copy of his EndNote Library or thesis elsewhere, and lost months and months of work. You will invest a lot of time and effort in your EndNote Library and word document- make sure you protect it by making a copy of both to an external hard-drive, USB, etc. Just in case.

To make a copy of your EndNote Library, make sure you choose to compress a copy (this will save both .enl and .data files) to a USB stick or external drive. 

Avoid cloud based storage

When thinking about storage of your EndNote Library and word document, be aware that Endnote is not compatible with cloud based storage systems (for example, Dropbox, Google Drive, iCloud, SharePoint, etc.).  We do not recommend opening or using Endnote files or linked word documents from within these environments. Only open Endnote files or linked documents saved to a hard disk or a thumb drive.

 

Avoiding EN Library problems

Just one library

The UNE Library recommends having just one EndNote Library, especially if you intend to use the sync capabilities that are available with ENX7. If you have multiple libraries, confusion can occur about which Library databases are downloading to, and other issues. Just have the one Library, with (as mentioned above) a compressed copy safely elsewhere.

Instead of having multiple libraries, try using groups instead.

Data entry: Remember rubbish in, rubbish out!

When adding references into your EN Library, always be consistent with your entry. If you have multiple references by the same author, make sure they are entered exactly the same way to avoid same author issue.

When downloading from databases or from Google Scholar, double-check the data quality whilst the reference is still in the imports folder.

Problems downloading items on a Mac

 When using a Mac, downloads often go into the downloads folder. For more information, see 'Downloading references'.

Remove duplicates

When adding references into your EN Library, remove duplicated references. This is important as having duplicated references in your EN Library can lead to duplicated references in your word document Bibliography/ reference list. To check for and remove duplicates, go to the Avoiding Duplicates page to see directions. 

 

Avoiding Word problems

Deleting references

When adding in-text citations into your word document using EndNote, be very careful how you treat the linked citations and references in your word document (citations and references that are linked to your EndNote Library will be highlighted when you click on them). Using the backspace, delete key and even cutting and pasting paragraphs with live citations can potentially cause corruption in your document.

EndNote has a safe way for deleting references- go to Deleting a citation for more information.

How to move between Endnote and your word document

Be careful how you move between EndNote and your word document. Moving by clicking on other windows can potentially cause corruption. EndNote has created a safe way to move between your EN Library and document.

To move correctly from your EN Library to word document, click on the  'Return to word processor' icon or go to Tools, then select 'Cite While you Write' and then 'Return to Word' or similar.

To move correctly from your word document back to the EN Library, click on the Go to EN icon icon or select Tools, and then EndNote X7 and then 'Go to EndNote'. Go to EndNote

Avoid track changes

While there are no official warnings against using Microsoft Word's Track Changes in an Endnote linked live document, the UNE Library has been contacted by a few students with corruption which may be due to using Track Changes in the live document. We would advise that if you need to use track changes, or if you need to send your document to a Supervisor who may wish to use track changes, make a plain text COPY (see Removing field codes), send the copy to your supervisor) and then make any changes that have been suggested by your supervisor back to the live document afterwards.  

Cut & Paste Word Doc unformatted

Moving around paragraphs or chapters that have EndNote live citations within them can mess up the background coding of the citations. To avoid corrupting your document, before you move paragraphs or chapters around, first UNFORMAT your document by going to Tools (on the Toolbar), and then selecting 'Convert to Unformatted Citations'.

You can now cut and paste your chapters/paragraphs. When finished, you can then REFORMAT back by going to Bibliography (on the toolbar) and then selecting 'Update Citations and Bibliography'.

Sending your document to your Publisher/Supervisor

The UNE Library recommends that you send a plain-text copy of your document to your publisher or Supervisor. This way, your Publisher or Supervisor can make any changes that they need to, such as using track changes, deleting references, etc. without any possible risk of corruption to your original live copy. See Removing field codes for more information.

CRICOS Provider Code 00003G
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip