Upgrading EndNote
Adding references manuallyAdding attachmentsImporting PDFsUsing Library SearchDirect export from databasesImporting with a filterExporting from Google ScholarFinding Full TextChecking for duplicate recordsBacking up your library
Backing up your libraryEditing recordsCopying and deleting recordsSearching your librarySorting your libraryCreating groupsProducing a reading list
Output stylesInserting referencesFormatting citationsRemoving field codesBibliographies
Journal abbreviationsVancouver styleAGLC3 styleAGPSFootnoting
BibliographiesSyncingHandling PDFs
Downloading referencesEndNote and WordFootnotingJournal abbreviationsOutput stylesTraining
This is the "Footnoting" page of the "EndNote X7 for Macs" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

EndNote X7 for Macs   Tags: endnote  

Last Updated: May 18, 2017 URL: http://une.au.libguides.com/endnotemac Print Guide RSS Updates

Footnoting Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Footnoting

Contents

I'm a law student. How does EndNote handle the AGLC3?

If you are a Law student the following guide will help:

You can also look at AGLC3 style for steps on how to incorporate AGLC3 into your EndNote Library.

How do I find out if a particular style supports footnotes?

Follow these steps:

  • Launch EndNote.
  • Select Edit.
  • Go Output Styles>Open Style Manager.
  • Double-click on your selected style.
  • The Comments and Limitations box will give you information about the style and whether or not it supports footnotes.

How do I create footnotes with a bibliography at the end?

There are two ways to create footnotes with a bibliography at the end using EndNote:

  • You can create the footnotes using your word processor, and then insert the citations into the footnotes using a normal author-date style like MLA. After you format the paper, the footnotes will contain abbreviated in-text citations such as (Smith, 1992) and the full reference will appear in the list      of references at the end of the paper.
  • You can create the footnotes using your word processor and then insert the citations into the footnotes using special footnoting styles. The standard EndNote output style for footnotes is Chicago 15thA, which is based on the Chicago Manual of Style (16th edition).

With footnoting styles the citation may appear in the footnote as a complete reference, an abbreviated reference with just a short title, or as ibid., depending on how the style is configured. The full reference will appear in the list of references at the end of the paper.

How do I use a special footnoting style with Word 2010?

If you are using a special footnoting styles (like Chicago 16th for Humanities subjects or AGLC3 for Law) follow these steps:

  • Launch Word and open your document.
  • Make sure you can see your document in Print Layout by going to View and then choosing Print Layout.
  • Place your cursor where you want to insert the footnote reference mark.
  • Click on the Insert tab and then click on Footnote. (Choosing the Location as Endnotes will cause your footnotes to appear at the end of the document as endnotes (this is term which inspired the name of the EndNote software)).
  • Now use the  EndNote toolbar (or alternatively Tools>EndNoteX7>Insert Citation(s)) to Insert Citation into the footnote.
  • Repeat this procedure for each footnote.
  • EndNote should insert the citations in the footnotes and produce a bibliography at the end of the document.

If this isn't happening:

  • Go to Tools> EndNoteX7 and click on Turn Instant Formatting On.
  • Your citations should now update automatically.

To insert a Page Break before the bibliography at the end of your document:

  • Position the cursor just before your heading for the bibliography (References, Bibliography).
  • Click on Insert from the menu bar.
  • Click on Break and choose Page break.

This will ensure your bibliography is printed on a separate page at the end of your document, while the footnotes will appear in the correct format at the bottom of each page.

For more detailed information use the help in EndNote and Word.

I want footnotes but I don't need a bibliography at the end.

If you are writing a short work, such as a journal article or essay, you may not require a separate bibliography at the end of the document. You can change the output style so that a bibliography does not appear.

  • Go to Edit>Output Styles>Open Styles Manager.
  • Highlight the style and click on the Edit button.
  • Select File>Save As and save the output style under a new name.
  • In the left-hand frame,  under Footnotes select Templates.
  • Untick the Include citations in bibliography box at the top of the screen if it is ticked.
  • Close the edit window by clicking on the small red circle in the top left of the edit window.
  • When prompted, Save the changes that you have made.

How do I insert specific page numbers into a footnote?

To include specific page numbers for a reference in a footnote:

  • Highlight the citation in your Word document
  • On the EndNote toolbar, select Ciations and then Edit & Manage Citation(s) or go to Tools>EndNoteX7>Edit & Manage Citation(s).
  • Look for the space labelled Pages in the box that appears, type the page number(s) and click on OK.

This will only work if the EndNote output style can handle Cited Pages. Most of the special footnoting styles can do this. If it doesn't work, then use the 'Suffix' option to type in the details the way you want it to look.

Please note that specific page numbers will not appear in the bibliography at the end of the document.

What happens when some of my citations are repeated?

Most footnote styles require citations to be abbreviated if they have already been cited once. EndNote applies the following rules:

  • If the reference is cited again in the following footnote, EndNote will just insert ibid.
  • If the reference is cited again, but not in the immediately following footnote, EndNote will often use a short form of citation consisting only of the author and the title.
  • If the reference in your EndNote library already includes something in the Short Title field, the output style may use this instead of the Title field.

After EndNote 6, the Short Title field is available in all reference types. You should decide what the Short Title should look like and type this information into the Short Title field.

If you wish to edit an output style to change the way in which it handles repeated citations in footnotes:

  • Launch EndNote.
  • go to Edit>Output Styles>Open Styles Manager.
  • Highlight the style and click on the Edit button.
  • In the left-hand frame, go to Footnotes heading and click on Repeated Citations. Make your choices as to how you want them to be treated.

How can I remove the author's name from a citation?

When using an author/date style (such as Harvard), EndNote allows you to modify the citations by removing the author or year from the citation. Unfortunately, this is not possible with a footnote style.

How can I restart footnote numbering each chapter?

To do this, you need to first insert a section break at the beginning of a new chapter. Then, when inserting the first footnote in a new chapter, look at the Footnotes options. For Numbering choose Restart Each Section instead of Continuous.

  


CRICOS Provider Code 00003G
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip