BookseBooksJournal Articles
AssignmentsLibrary assistanceReferencing
1- Library Tour2 - Search3- Google & Webpage Evaluation4- Searching for Journal Articles
This is the "4- Searching for Journal Articles" page of the "International Students Library Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

International Students Library Guide   Tags: international students, studying  

This guide is to introduce International students to the UNE University Library.
Last Updated: Aug 18, 2017 URL: http://une.au.libguides.com/international Print Guide RSS Updates

4- Searching for Journal Articles Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

About this page...

 4- Searching for Journal Articles

This level is an introduction on how to best access journal articles through the databases.

 

Dixson Library computers

Library computer image

 

Where to search for Journal Articles...

  Subject guides image

  A-Z database list image

 

Need help?

eSkills 2.0 Logo 

Ask a Librarian icon

 

Where to search for Journal Articles...

Search for journal articles at UNE University Library via:

You can also search via the Library Search (2) and Google Scholar (using the Library's link) (3).

There are over 180 different databases used at UNE, containing numerous journals articles and other publications.

If you know which database you need, use the A-Z database list link on the library homepage. If you do not know which database(s) to use, try the subject guides. The subject guides contain a list of databases, and other resources, that the library recommends for your subject area.

To use the databases that UNE University Library subscribes to, you will need your UNE username and password.

 

Tips for using the Databases

Try the tips below when researching through the databases for an assignment: 

1) Select a database relevant (on topic) to your assignment question. For help selecting the right database, try the Subject Guides. 

2) Use your assignment question to note the keywords- use these as your search terms.

For example, "Compare and analyse the impact of the avian influenza on the two economies of Australia and Indonesia". Consider if there are other words/terms that mean the same thing. 

Some useful search terms would be:

  • avian influenza
  • bird flu
  • economies
  • economics
  • Australia
  • Australian
  • Australasia
  • Indonesia
  • Indonesian, etc.

3) For a quick, easy search, use the first/basic search box all databases have. For more controlled searching, try the advanced search (if available).

4) Quotation marks tip "  "

Use double quotation marks (" ") if searching for a phrase.

For example, "bird flu" will only return those articles with those two words next to each other (not using quotation marks will include articles with those two words anywhere in the article, even pages apart).

5) Truncate it!

When searching, try using the truncation mark * (Shift 8 on the computer keyboard) to include variations in the ending of a word. This will expand your search to include other relevant results that would not be returned if you only searched for one word.

For example, Australia will only return articles with that word. However, Austral* will return articles with the words Australia, Australian, Australians, Australasia

 6) For more help when searching, try using the databases Help page(s), the Library's eSkills pages, or Ask-a-Librarian

 

 

Finding Quality Information workshop

The UNE University Library holds workshops on using the Library's databases, called Finding Quality Journal Articles. For more information, and to book into a class, please go to the Library classes webpage. For those who are unable to attend this workshop, please find the class handout below.

Online tutorials are also available.

    CRICOS Provider Code 00003G
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip