This is the "Searching for Resources" page of the "Library Essentials" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Library introduction for those new to UNE. A quick guide to the facilities and services available in UNE libraries, and to finding resources in the libraries and online.
Last Updated: Jun 6, 2017 URL: http://une.au.libguides.com/LibraryEssentials2 Print Guide RSS Updates

Searching for Resources Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Finding books on the shelves

Call Numbers are determined by the subject matter of the book. Books and other items are shelved according to their Call Number.

Floor plans noting the location of collections and call numbers are found here. Floor plans are also located on each level of Dixson library in the main stairwell.

eBooks have Full text available or Online access instead of a call number. See below. Click View It to access the eBook.

 

The Library Search

The Library Search is accessed from the library homepage.

Search defaults to a 'simple' or 'basic' search. You can also select Advanced Search.

Browse Search allows you to search by Subject, Author, Title, or Dewey number (Call number). Note: a search for a title in simple search should also be successful.


eSkills 2.0 Searching tutorials (using Search, Finding Journal Articles etc.)

 

Journals & Databases

UNE has access to a wide range of electronic Journals and Databases. Journals are published on a regular basis and they are where you will find peer-reviewed articles that are required for scholarly research. UNE subscribes to many databases. These databases allow access to thousands of journals and other resources. Some databases are extensive and cover many different subject areas, while others are more subject specific.

Two ways to find and access databases:

1. Subject Guides

Subject Guides are created for various subject areas. They provide guidance and resources that are specific to the discipline and include direct links to the best databases for your unit or topic.

2. A-Z List of Databases

If you already know which database you want to use you can select from the A-Z list.

 

Library help

Email enquiries
Ask a Librarian

Research Help
Subject Search

Individual Consultations
Book a Librarian

Library Service Desk
(02) 6773 2458
Distance student enquiries
1800 059 735

Twitter
twitter.com/UNELibrary

Facebook
www.facebook.com/UNELibrary

Library Website
www.une.edu.au/library

 

Subject guides

A good place to begin your research is by looking at the relevant Subject Guide. These can be accessed from the library homepage. Subject Guides are developed by librarians on a range of different subject areas with resources specific to those subjects.

 

Readings online

Readings for your units may be available in eReserve. You can search for your readings by the Unit Code (e.g. HIST111), or by the title or author of a specific reading.

Please note that links to readings may also be available from the Moodle pages for your units.

 

Past exams

Past exam papers are accessible online through the library homepage (via eReserve). You can search for past exams in the same as way as eReserve, using the Unit Code (e.g. HIST111).

Please be aware that not all subjects and years have been provided to the library. If the exam papers you would like are not available online,  please contact your unit coordinator.

 

Online training: eSkills 2.0

aSkills 2.0 logo

eSkills 2.0 is a series of online tutorials to help you with your university assignments.

The first series is directed towards understanding and responding to the requirements of a university essay. Skills may also be applied to finding resources for other types of university assignments.

  The tutorials include:

  1. Understanding your essay requirements,
  2. Searching for information,
  3. Evaluating the quality of information,
  4. Writing your essay (under construction),
  5. Referencing your essay (under construction).

More tutorials will be added regularly.

CRICOS Provider Code 00003G
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip