This is the "Dictionaries by Subject" page of the "Encyclopedias & References" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Encyclopedias & References   Tags: dictionaries, encylopedias, reference  

Last Updated: May 18, 2017 URL: http://une.au.libguides.com/reference Print Guide RSS Updates

Dictionaries by Subject Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Benefits of using dictionaries

Dictionaries can be general or subject-based (Blackwell's Dictionary of Nursing). Use dictionaries, such as the Macquarie Dictionary, to define unfamiliar terms. 

 The Oxford English Dictionary is an authority on the English language. It is a guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words.

Oxford English Dictionary

This page contains a short list of recommended dictionaries applicable to:

  • General dictionaries
  • Arts and Humanities
  • Behavioural, Cognitive and Social Sciences
  • Business
  • Education
  • Health and Medicine
  • Legal Encyclopedias and Dictionaries
  • Science and Technology,  Environmental and  Rural Sciences
 

General Online Dictionaries

Oxford English Dictionary (OED)  is an authority on the English language. It is a guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words— past and present—from across the English-speaking world.

Oxford Reference
Oxford Reference offers a range of dictionaries and encyclopedias listed by subject.

Oxford Bilingual Dictionaries Includes Latin, European Lanagues.

alphaDictionary searches over 1000 english dictionaries simultaneously. This site includes a range of language dictionaries including Chinese, Russian, Spanish, Portuguese, Korean, Japanese, French and German.  For futher dictionaries containing languages from Africa, North and South America, the Pacific Islands, other areas of Europe, Asia and India see the the directory for languages, select a language, then choose your preferred online dictionary.

 

Arts and Humanities

For further Subject specific dictionaries, click on your Subject area on the Encyclopedias by Subject tab.

 

Oxford Music Online Full Text
Oxford Music Online includes the full-text of Grove Music Online,  New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, New Grove Dictionary of Opera, New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, Encyclopedia of Popular MusicThe Oxford Dictionary of Musicand The Oxford Companion to MusicPlease logout when finished so other users can login. Guided Tour

 

Behavioural, Cognitive and Social Sciences

For further Subject specific dictionaries, click on your Subject area on the Encyclopedias by Subject tab.

Cover Art
Dictionary of the Social Sciences - Craig Calhoun (Editor)
ISBN: 0195123719
Publication Date: 2002-05-02

Cover Art
A Dictionary of Psychology - Andrew M. Colman
ISBN: 0199534063
Publication Date: 2009-04-01


Cover Art
Forensic Science Glossary - John C. Brenner
ISBN: 9780849311963
Publication Date: 1999-08-31

Cover Art
A Dictionary of Geography - Susan Mayhew
ISBN: 9780199231805
Publication Date: 2010-04-19



 

Business

New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics  The online edition of The New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics contains the full text of the 8 volume print edition. Note: Internet Explorer users require the free MathPlayer plugin for display of equations.


Cover Art
A Dictionary of Marketing - Charles Doyle
ISBN: 0199590230
Publication Date: 2011-05-15

 

Education

For further Subject specific dictionaries, click on your Subject area on the Encyclopedias by Subject tab.

Cover Art
A Dictionary of Education - Susan Wallace
ISBN: 9780199212064
Publication Date: 2009-01-08


Cover Art
A Dictionary of Education - Susan Wallace
ISBN: 9780199679393
Publication Date: 2015-02-02
10.1093/acref/9780199679393.001.0001

 

Health and Medicine

For further Subject specific dictionaries, click on your Subject area on the Encyclopedias by Subject tab.

Cover Art
A Dictionary of Social Work and Social Care - John Harris; Vicky White
ISBN: 9780199543052
Publication Date: 2013-03-01


Cover Art
A Dictionary of Biomedicine - John Lackie
ISBN: 0199549354
Publication Date: 2010-09-25

Cover Art
Concise Medical Dictionary - Elizabeth A. Martin (Editor)
ISBN: 0199557144
Publication Date: 2010-04-12


Cover Art
Dictionary of Pharmaceutical Medicine - Gerhard Nahler
ISBN: 9783211898369
Publication Date: 2009-01-01

Legal Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

 

Science and Technology, Environmental and Rural Sciences

CRICOS Provider Code 00003G
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip