This is the "Thesauri" page of the "Encyclopedias & References" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Encyclopedias & References   Tags: dictionaries, encylopedias, reference  

Last Updated: Aug 9, 2017 URL: http://une.au.libguides.com/reference Print Guide RSS Updates

Thesauri Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Benefits of using thesauri

A thesaurus is a list of words with similar meanings (synonyms) and words with opposite meanings (antonyms). Thesauri will help you find alternative keywords and phrases for the important words identified during the process of analysing your assignment topic. There are general thesauri (Roget's Thesaurus) and subject-oriented ones (Legal Thesaurus).

An excellent example is the Oxford Paperback Thesaurus.


Many of the dictionaries contained within the Dictionaries tab will have general and subject specialist thesauri.

Thesauri held within Databases

Many databases have a range of preferred subject specific thesauri.  Here is a small selection of available thesauri held within large databases.

  • ProQuest Subject Thesauri
    Includes:
    - Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA)
    - EconLit thesaurus
    - ERIC thesaurus
    - Life Sciences thesaurus
    - Linguistic and Language Behavior Abstracts
    - MeSH 2015
    - Physical Education thesaurus
    - PILOTS thesaurus (Published International Literature on Traumatic Stress)
    - Pollution Controlled Vocabulary
    - ProQuest thesaurus
    - PsycINFO thesaurus
    - Sociological thesaurus
    - Taxonomic Terms (Latin Names of Organisms Vocabulary)
  • PubMed - MeSH (Medical Subject Headings)
    MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) is the NLM (National Library of Medicine) controlled vocabulary thesaurus used for indexing articles for PubMed.
  • EBSCO Subject Thesauri
    Click on the Subjects link at the top of the page to select a subject specific thesaurus.
    This inlcudes:
    - Business thesaurus
    - CINAHL headings
    - Education Source thesaurus
    - ERIC thesaurus
    - Green thesaurus
    - Library, Information Source & Technology thesaurus

 

Thesauri

Free Online Thesauri

  • Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA)
    This is an International Cooperative Information System which comprises an abstracting and indexing service covering the world's literature on the science, technology, management, and conservation of marine, brackish water, and freshwater resources and environments, including their socio-economic and legal aspects.
  • Campbell R. Harvey's Hypertextual Finance Glossary
    A useful financial glossary with more than 6,000 entries.
  • Collins English Dictionary and Thesaurus
    This includes British and American spelling.
  • ELSST - European Language Social Science Thesaurus
    This is a broad-based, multilingual thesaurus for the social sciences. It is currently available in 12 languages: Danish, Czech, Danish, Finnish, French, German, Greek, Lithuanian, Norwegian, Romanian, Spanish, and Swedish.
  • Getty Research Institute - Getty vocabularies
    The Getty vocabularies contain structured terminology for art, architecture, decorative arts and other material culture, archival materials, visual surrogates, and bibliographic materials. This site includes links to The Art & Architecture Thesaurus (AAT), The Getty Thesaurus of Geographic Names (TGN), The Cultural Objects Name Authority (CONA), and The Union List of Artist Names (ULAN).
  • HASSET - Humanities And Social Science Electronic Thesaurus
    HASSET is a multidisciplinary thesaurus. Coverage is most comprehensive in the core social science disciplines: politics, sociology, economics, education, law, crime, demography, health, employment, information and communication technology and, increasingly, environmental science. It is the leading British English thesaurus for the social sciences.
  • Health and Ageing Thesaurus Search
    The Health Thesaurus is a living working tool which assists consistency and subject retrieval of health concepts. By standardising concepts to one single subject heading, the Thesaurus forms the basis for a common terminology within the Department of Health (Australia). MeSH (medical Subject Headings) produced by the US National Library of Medicine has been used as the basis of the medical terms and the corresponding hierarchical schedules in the Health Thesaurus.
  • National Agricultural Library
    First released by the National Agricultural Library in 2002. In 2007, NAL and the Inter-American Institute for Cooperation on Agriculture (IICA) collaborated to develop the Spanish version of the NAL Agricultural Thesaurus and Glossary, named Tesauro Agrícola y Glosario.
  • Thesaurus for the Social Sciences
    The Thesaurus for the Social Sciences (Thesaurus Sozialwissenschaften) is a crucial instrument for the content-oriented search by keywords in SOFIS and SOLIS. The list of keywords contains about 12,000 entries, of which more than 8,000 are descriptors (authorised keywords) and about 4,000 non-descriptors. Topics in all of the social science disciplines are included.
CRICOS Provider Code 00003G
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip