Choosing a publisher
The quality of the publishing house is an important consideration.The best way to establish an academic career is to publish with reputable, well known publishers.
- Always read author guidelines before submitting a book proposal.
- Academic publishers generally have webpages providing advice and guidelines for prospective authors, as well a listing of their current publications.
- Use publishers' webpages to check recent titles and topics – does your proposal match the publisher’s market?
Questions you might ask publishers:
- What is the selection process?
- Is there a peer-review process? Will my submission be sent out to reviewers?
- Do they professionally edit my work? What standing do the editors have in the discipline?
- Do they market or promote the publication?
- What is the distribution of the publisher? Do they have "standing orders" from university libraries?
- Do authors receive royalties?
- Do authors have to pay to publish? (Note: this is a legitimate model for open access publishing but is only of value if refereed)
- What are the copyright implications?
- What if my publication is available on open access in an institutional repository?
Thinking about a career in academia?
Questions to ask Supervisor, departmental colleagues:
- Will it adversely affect future publication, in particular my ability to get my research published in journals?
- Will it add value to my academic career?
- Can it be counted as a research publication by Research Services as research activity or for research assessment?
Want to get an ISSN or ISBN?
Google Books - search for the titles of books and book chapters to locate citations.
In theory, cited-reference searching is possible in any full-text database of books or articles if you search the references and bibliographies. Full-text databases may have search options such as References, All Fields or All Text. Tip: search for titles as "a phrase". Some databases index all of the cited references in the articles which they abstract. Some may provide an option to limit your search to the cited references.
Wiley Online Library - multidisciplinary database. It covers more than 2,500 journals, books, reference works and databases. Search for References.
PsycINFO - international literature in psychology and related disciplines. Includes some citation counts and all of the cited references in the articles indexed.
ProQuest - some specific databases include cite counts, many include cited references.
Use these search tools to find out how many libraries hold your book
- Trove - National Australian Discovery Service, providing access to printed, electronic, pictorial, newspaper, research, map, music & archival material
- WorldCat (OCLC) - search portal for over 10,000 libraries worldwide
- The European Library - search portal for European national libraries
- COPAC - search portal for university and national libraries in Great Britain
- Libraries Australia - provides access to combined holdings of major Australian libraries.