Open Access in Action
Journals - Impact FactorBooksConferencesVanity and predatory publishing
Citation analysish-indexAltmetricsOther metrics
This is the "Citation analysis" page of the "Researcher Support" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

A guide to resources of interest to researchers at the University of New England, Australia.
Last Updated: Aug 22, 2017 URL: http://une.au.libguides.com/research Print Guide RSS Updates

Citation analysis Print Page
  Search: 
 

Citation analysis

A common proxy for research impact - in disicplines that lend themselves to the approach - is citation analysis. As no one database indexes all of researcher's publications, you should use multiple citation sources to get a fuller picture

Common citation measures include:

  • Total number of publications for an author
  • Citations per article
  • Total of all citations
  • Field-wieghted Citation Impact
  • H-index (see, following page)

Another measure is journal impact factors for your publications:

  • Journal Impact Factors for journals you publish in
  • Outputs in top citation percentiles
  • Publications in top journal percentiles 
  • Further Reading:
    Harzing, A. (2010). Citation analysis across disciplines: The impact of different data sources and citation metrics.
  • Further Reading:
    Jarvey, P., Usher, A. and McElroy, L. (2012). Making research count: Analyzing Canadian academic publishing cultures. Toronto: Higher Education Strategy Associates.

Useful citation indexes

Scopus

Scopus Abstract and citation database to scientific, technical, medical and social sciences literature including some arts & humanities content.

       

Web of Science is a citation index covering over 18,000 journals and 160,000 conference proceedings. It has 1.3 billion cited refernces that go back to 1900. It covers the sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar Citations provides a simple way for authors to keep track of citations to their articles. You can check who is citing your publications, graph citations over time, and compute several citation metrics. You can also make your profile public, so that it appears in Google Scholar results when people search for your name.

pop

Publish or Perish is a free software program that retrieves and analyses academic citations. It uses Google Scholar to obtain the raw citation data that you can then further analyse. 

 

Scopus' Analyze Search Results tool

A quick way to analyse your Scopus search results and gain deeper insights.
The Analyze Search Results tool provides important insights into your search results that you might otherwise miss. Gain a visual summary of your entire search results list grouped into 7 key categories.

 

Beginning a search

Commence searching for who has cited your work by compiling a complete list of your publications. Consult multiple database sources, particularly Scopus. Many other databases may also have cited reference listings.

Where applicable, make use of your Scopus Author ID and ORCID ID.

  • If the same journal article appears on different databases, the cited references should be totalled (provided they are cited by different authors).
  • Recent research articles may not yet have cited references.
  • Cited references terminology may vary in different databases e.g.cited references are more likely to have been used in the sciences.
  • Results may be disappointing in the social sciences and humanities.

Other citation resources

To get citations for articles not indexed by Scopus or Web of Science - typically, those from the disciplines of Arts & Humanities, Business and Law - try looking in one or more of the subject indexes and publisher databases listed, below

As it is rather laborious tracking down citation data of this kind, only use this method as a last resort!

  • ERIC
    If an article has been cited by another article in ERIC, this information is given in the original article record. Click on the 'Cited by' link
  • HighWire
    HighWire informs you if an article in its database has been cited by other articles in the same source
  • HeinOnline
    Now with a'cited by' features to indicate articles that have been cited by other articles. For further information, see the online guide
  • IngentaConnect
    Article abstracts will often include other articles that have cited the original work
  • Institute of Physics (IoP)
    The abstracts for articles in IoP journals often contain links to 'All Citing Articles'
  • JSTOR
    JSTOR notes when an article has been cited by other articles in JSTOR . Look for the tab 'Items Citing this Item' on the article page. JSTOR also allows you to check for citations in GoogleScholar
  • MathSciNet
    Detailed Author citation statistics are available
  • ProQuest
    A number of databases previously available through CSA (including ERIC) are now in ProQuest. They provide lists of references used by an article and how often a particular reference has been cited by other articles in the same database. In addition to ERIC, ProQuest includes Biological Sciences, EconLit, Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA), Physical Education Index, PILOTS Database, PsycINFO, Social Services Abstracts and Sociological Abstracts
  • ScienceDirect
    Article abstracts in ScienceDirect frequently provide totals of citing articles derived from Scopus
  • SpringerLink
    Citing articles are displayed in the article abstract under 'Cited by'
  • SSRN
    Citations for many of the papers in the Social Science Research Network (SSRN) site can be found by clicking on the Citations tab on the abstract page
  • Wiley Online Library
    Click on 'Cited by' in the article abstract to discover a list of citing articles
CRICOS Provider Code 00003G
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip