Where to publish
A strategic approach to selecting a journal in which to publish will increase the likelihood that your article is accepted. You will want to publish in quality, high impact scholarly journals. Therefore it's important to know what to look for in a journal when the time comes to submit your manuscript. Assess whether the journal is a suitable place for your paper by considering:
- Peer review: is the journal peer reviewed? Check Ulrichsweb.
- Prestige: is it well regarded in your field of research?
- Relevance: does your research fit in with the scope and aims of the journal?
- Readership: is it available in print and online and is it indexed in major databases?
- Is it on the ERA list?
- Is it indexed widely?
- What is the Impact Factor of the journal?
ERA 2012 Journal List
The Excellence in Research for Australia (ERA) initiative developed by the Australian Research Council was used in 2010 and 2012 to assess research quality within Australia's higher education institutions using a combination of indicators and expert review by committees comprising experienced, internationally-recognised experts.
Go to the ERA tab for more information.
Journal Information Databases
Ulrichsweb is a directory that provides detailed, comprehensive, and authoritative information on journals. Useful to find out in which database a journal is indexed to determine its coverage. Also the place to go to quickly determine if a journal is refereed.
Tools to Measure Journal Impact
Journal impact factors use citation data to gauge the impact or importance of journals.
- Journal Metrics - Elsevier provides three alternative, transparent and accurate views of the true citation impact a journal makes.
- SCImago, is based on data retrieved from Scopus. Top spot to determine journal ranking as it adds a weighting factor depending upon where an article has been cited.
- Eigenfactor Project is a non-commercial academic research project sponsored by the University of Washington which also produces measures of journal impact, based on data retrieved from Journal Citation Reports.
- Scopus Journal Analyzer is available via Scopus (click the Analytics button). This tool presents the SJR (SCImago Journal Rank) as well as other journal metrics such as number of documents and number of citations. Up to 10 journals may be selected and their relative metrics viewed in graph form. View the tutorial.
Google Scholar Metrics
Google Scholar Metrics provide an easy way for authors to quickly gauge the visibility and influence of recent articles in scholarly publications.
Find out the top 20 journals in your discipline.
Health & Life Science Authors
Provides links to the author instruction pages and editorial board contacts to 6000 health journal web sites.
Resource compiled by the Raymon H. Mulford Library of the Medical University of Ohio at Toledo.
Jane - Journal /Author Name Estimator
Have you recently written a paper, but you're not sure to which journal you should submit it? Or maybe you want to find relevant articles to cite in your paper? Or are you an editor, and do you need to find reviewers for a particular paper?
Jane can help!