Open Access in Action
Journals - Impact FactorBooksConferencesOpen AccessVanity and predatory publishingKeeping your copyright
Citation analysish-indexAltmetricsOther bibliometric measures
This is the "Finding info" page of the "Researcher Support" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

A guide to resources of interest to researchers at the University of New England, Australia.
Last Updated: Jun 23, 2017 URL: http://une.au.libguides.com/research Print Guide RSS Updates

Finding info Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Managing information

In the course of your research make the maximum use of all the appropriate tools for finding, managing and manipulating information and data.

 

Library Search

Library Search on the Library homepage will provide access to many (but not all) of the Library holdings, including print and online articles, books and journals. View the Help video to get started.

Library Search

 

Library databases

The Library subscribes to many databases so you have access to full-text content not available on the open Web.

All databases and electronic resources require a UNE username and password.

Unsure of which databases are suitable? Library Subject Guides will help you select relevant databases to search.

Looking for a particular database? Try our A-Z list of databases.

More information

Need more help? Postgraduate students are encouraged to submit a subject search request to get some suggestions from a librarian about search strategies and database selection.

 

Locating theses

Trove is a good place to locate Australian theses.

Go to Advanced Search.
Select Format >Thesis
  
More information about Finding Theses can be found in eSKILLS Plus - the Library's online program for postgraduate students and researchers.
 

Bibliographic management

endnote

  • EndNote is software you can use to build up your own library of references.
  • When you are ready to write your thesis, the EndNote Cite While You Write tool enables you to insert citations in a particular referencing style and build a bibliography automatically.
  • You can download a copy of EndNote using instructions from EndNote support pages.

Book to attend a face-to-face EndNote Basics class.

Make the most of comprehensive UNE online EndNote Subject Guide.

 

e-publications@UNE

e-publications@UNE is an institutional repository for disseminating and preserving the scholarly work of the University of New England. It offers a central location for depositing research outputs or other scholarly work for which authors have retained copyright or acquired permission to do so. In addition, the repository provides enduring access and makes the content easily discoverable.

Find out more about e-publications@UNE.

 

Scholarly Research Blog Index

ACI Scholarly Blog Index is a free, editorially created and curated index of scholarly social media. Authors are selected for inclusion based on their academic credentials as well as the scope and quality of their writing. Metadata, taxonomies, and proprietary Author Profile Cards are appended to each publication. A sophisticated search interface easily surfaces highly relevant articles.   Post-search filtering allows researchers to further hone in on appropriate articles. 

 

Borrowing from the Library

Find out how to borrow, how many items and how long you can have them. You can renew online and recall books already out on loan.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar provides full-text for millions of academic articles, including many not in the Library's collection.



 

Looking for full-text journal articles?

To identify articles on a particular topic use one or more of the databases. Once you have identified articles:

  • Look for a 'PDF Full Text' or PDF link
  • If no PDF link is included, look for an 'HTML Full Text' link
  • If full text is not included within the database, look for  UNE Find it  This may indicate if the journal is held in print or online in another resource.
  • If no UNE FInd it1 link is included, search the Library catalogue using the journal title to see if it's held in print format or electronic access via another database.
 

Item NOT held at UNE?

Postgraduate students and academic staff can get items not held at UNE.

You can place requests using the Inter Library Loans forms and we'll obtain the items from another library. You can ask to borrow books held in Australia, be sent scanned copies of journal articles, legal cases or chapters in books, and order theses.

The Library will fund a number of your Inter Library Loans - see the quota details.

CRICOS Provider Code 00003G
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip