Digital Commons Network
The Digital Commons Network brings together free, full-text scholarly articles from hundreds of universities and colleges worldwide. Curated by university librarians and their supporting institutions, the Network includes a growing collection of peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, and other original scholarly work.
Subject based repositories
Medicine, Biomedicine & Health
- UK PubMed Central is a free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature. Many UK research funders now require that articles resulting from funded research is placed in this repository.
- ClinMed Clinical medicine and health research
Physical Sciences & Engineering
- arXiv - a very well established archive for papers in physics, maths, non-linear science, computer science, and quantitative biology hosted by Cornell University
- PerX - a pilot engineering repository search service
- Chemistry, Maths and Computer Science Preprint archives
- Cogprints - covering the areas of Psychology, neuroscience, and linguistics, and many areas in computer science, philosophy and biology
- ePrint network - a vast, integrated network of electronic scientific and technical information created by scientists and research engineers
- Computing Research Repository (CoRR)
- Project Euclid - Mathematics
Social Science & Public Policy
Academic Karma is a peer-review network and platform. It enables authors to get journal-independent peer review from experts in their field.
PubPeer enables scientist to search for their publications or their peers publications and provide feedback and/or start a conversation anonymously.
Zenodo is an open dependable home for the long-tail of science, enabling researchers to share and preserve any research outputs in any size, any format.
Directory of Open Access Repositories
Open Access repositories or archives may be institutional or subject based. OpenDOAR is a directory of such repositories throughout the world.
Hosted by Lund University, DOAJ provides links to over 4,000 journals in all subject areas. Many of these journals do not charge author fees. To find those that don't charge a fee, search by keyword in the 'For authors' section and restrict to 'No publication fee'.
The OAIster database
OAIster is a union catalog of millions of records representing open access resources that was built by harvesting from open access collections worldwide using the Open Archives Initiative Protocol for Metadata Harvesting (OAI-PMH). Today, OAIster includes more than 30 million records representing digital resources from more than 1,500 contributors.
In the open access publishing model the costs of providing access to research articles has shifted from the reader (or the provider of the reader's library service) to the author, or their institution, or their research funders.
The major players in the publishing of fully open access journals are:
BioMed Central -(BMC) publishes over 200 online journals, across the whole spectrum of health, biology and medicine.
Public Library of Science - PLoS is a nonprofit organization of scientists and physicians committed to making the world's scientific and medical literature a public resource.
Hindawi - is a rapidly growing academic publisher with more than 100 Open Access journals covering science, technology, and medicine. It also has a book publishing program covering all scholarly disciplines.
In addition, many conventional publishers also provide open access options within their subscription journals. This is known as the hybrid OA model.