Science & EngineeringHumanities & Social SciencesMedicine, Biomedicine & Health
Creative Commons Images AttributionUltimate Creative Commons Attribution guide
This is the "Journal Articles" page of the "Using Third party content for UNE Units" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Using Third party content for UNE Units   Tags: copyright, education, staff  

Copyright and licensing considerations
Last Updated: Aug 9, 2017 URL: http://une.au.libguides.com/copyrightuneunits Print Guide RSS Updates

Journal Articles Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Introduction

When using a journal article in your UNE moodle unit, it's important to know the source of the journal.  Different 'rules' of access apply depending on if it was accessed from a Library subscription database, a print journal, an open access journal, or if you obtained permission from the copyright owner. The categories are covered on this page.

 

Online library databases


Journal articles from electronic databases may not be reproduced as full text in UNE podcasts or unit materials.

You may provide a durable link so that each student can individually access the article directly from the database.  Alternatively, provide a reading list with full citation and ask students to find the articles themselves.  This has the advantage of encouraging student independence in information literacy.

Find Journal Articles.

 

Personal Subscriptions

Personal journal subscriptions

  • Journal articles from a personal print journal subscription can be made available via eReserve. See Using a Journal article from a print journal box on this page.
  • Personal electrocic subscriptions usually involve a contract arrangements that may limit your use to personal only.
    • you should not reproduce the content in your online unit.
    • check if the article you require is also included in one of the University Library databases and link to that copy. See Online library databases, above.
    • talk with eReserve staff about making a copy of the article available in eReserve.
     

    With Permission

    You are permitted to do with their work whatever a copyright owner has authorised. This includes uploading the resource into your online unit.

    Be aware that the author of a work is not necessarily the copyright owner. The publisher may hold the rights, so this is an important first check.

    The material should be made available only to enrolled students, either distributed on a DVD or via Moodle unless the agreement permits wider distribution.

    Make sure you keep on file (in TRIM, or with the Unit's administration) the express permission from the copyright owner to use their work in the way you want to. The permission does not need to be a formal document — an email communication is sufficient.

    •  Keeping a note of the permission, preferably with your unit's administation, will assist you and future unit coordinators to manage compliance.
    •  It's good practice to note: 'Used with permission' near the work.



    Find out more about getting permission.

     

    A word of caution about Open Access Journal articles

    You must not use any content in a UNE unit which may infringe the rights of the copyright owner, or which may be in breach of an agreement that you or another (such as the Library on your behalf) has entered into.

    For journal articles, you may link to an online Open Access version that has been made available

    • by the publisher or copyright owner
    • from an Open Access journal
    • from an institutional or subject repository

    However, be aware that journal articles from some sites may host unauthorised copies.  

    Journal articles from the following sites should be used advisedly.  

    • ResearchGate
    • Academia.edu

    Articles from these sources are usually available from alternative sources.

    If in doubt please check with eReserve staff or the Copyright Office in the first instance.

     

    Using an open journal article

    The following is an example of a citation to an open journal using the APA referencing style.

    Hlinka, J., Hartman, D., Vejmelka, M., Runge, J., Marwan, N., Kurths, J., & Paluš, M. (2013). Reliability of inference of directed climate networks using conditional mutual information. Entropy15(6), 2023–2045. doi:10.3390/e15062023

    For other referencing styles go to UNE Referencing.

     

    Using a journal article from a print source

    Journal articles from a print journal must not be reproduced in your online unit.  Print sourced journal articles must be located in eReserve. Find out about  

    Here's what an eReserve article can look like in your UNE moodle unit.

    like, thumbs, thumbs up, up, vote icon

    Shergold, P. (2010)  Collaborative Government : Where To From Here ?  Public Administration Today,  23,  28-29.

     

      CRICOS Provider Code 00003G
      Description

      Loading  Loading...

      Tip