Science & EngineeringHumanities & Social SciencesMedicine, Biomedicine & Health
Creative Commons Images AttributionUltimate Creative Commons Attribution guide
This is the "eBooks/Books" page of the "Using Third party content for UNE Units" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Using Third party content for UNE Units   Tags: copyright, education, staff  

Copyright and licensing considerations
Last Updated: Aug 9, 2017 URL: http://une.au.libguides.com/copyrightuneunits Print Guide RSS Updates

eBooks/Books Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Introduction

This page is intended to provide information about finding and using free openly accessible books.

These books will typically be out-of-copyright, licenced for online use, or made available with permission from the copyright owner.

Open books and freely available ebooks can be accessed by anyone online. By including this content in your UNE unit as a link to the site, or directly to a selected resource within the site, your students are able to find and access the resource for themselves.

 

Using ebooks

The following is an example of an ebook citation using the APA referencing style.

Harvey, N. & Caton, B. (2010). Coastal management in Australia. Retrieved from http://www.doabooks.org/

For other referencing styles go to UNE Referencing.

 

Google Books

Note in many cases only part of the book is available.



 

Open Textbooks

Open Textbooks are complete textbooks released under a Creative Commons, or similar, license by the College of Education and Human Development, University of Minnesota.

You can browse by subject to locate textbooks which can be customized to fit your course needs by remixing, editing, and adding your own content. Students can access free digital versions.

 

Openstax college

OpenStax college offers free and openly licensed textbooks that you can adopt and adapt.

 

Develop your own open book

While some open books are available to access and view only, others can be customised for your own teaching purposes.

For example:

Out of copyright books
Once a work is out of copyright you can use it in any way you like without further check or the need to seek permission from the copyright owner. Published books, plays and journal articles written by an author who died before 1 January 1955 will be out of copyright.  Be aware, though, that there may be new copyrights in a translation, adaption or arrangement of a work, even if the original work is out of copyright.

You are able to modify or adapt an out of copyright work in any way you like.  By referencing the original work and applying a licence on your new work (such as a Creative Commons Licence), you will be contributing to the global learning commons.

 

e-textbooks

bookbooncom  Bookboon.com has free textbooks in PDF form primarily focssing on accounting, economics, engineering, IT, marketing, and management. 
connexions

 Connexions includes educational material modules that can be organized as courses, books, reports, and the like.  Anyone can view or contribute content.

global text project Global Text Project publishs open content electronic textbooks that are freely available from their website.
OATs: Open Access Textbooks   The OATs Libguide is maintained by the Iowa State University Library and provides access to descriptions and links to known initiatives and organizations that support the development and promotion of Open Access textbooks, and to OA and low-cost e-books and textbook catalogs and databases.

 

 

Open books and ebooks

open knowledge repository

The World Bank uses Open Knowledge Repository to make its reports and books fully available to the public. Most of content is published under CC BY so it can be re-used and freely downloaded.

bartleby Bartleby.com  offers a wide range of classic full text searchable reference resources covering literature, reference and verse.
 
doab The primary aim of DOAB is to increase discoverability of Open Access books from academic publishers.
 
hathi trust HathiTrust is a partnership of major research institutions and libraries working to ensure that the cultural record is preserved and accessible long into the future. Books published before 1923 are fully searchable and viewable. Books published after 1923 are searchable but not viewable.
IntraText IntraText is a site featuring thousands of texts from 900 B.C. to this decade. Most works are under the Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported Licence.
 
met MetPublications is a portal to the Met's comprehensive book and online publishing program with close to 700 titles published from 1964 to the present. The full contents of many titles may be read online, searched, or downloaded as a PDF.
 
books online Online Books Page is a website that facilitates access to books that are freely readable over the Internet.
 
gutenberg Project Gutenberg offers over 40,000 free online books to be downloaded, read online or on a mobile device.
 
wisdom commons Wisdom Commons is a collection of over 3,000 poems, fables, essays and more that you are free to use.
 

Print Books

Importantly you must not upload book chapters into your Moodle unit, these resources MUST be in eReserve.

Find out about how to give the Library readings for eReserve

eReserve staff are best placed to assess and manage the ongoing copyright requirements.

Usually one chapter or 10% from a print book can be copied per unit or course of study under the terms of the educational licence Part VB, but in some cases there may be other considerations. For example if a book is not commercially available, up to the whole of a book can be used online from eReserve.  

An important consideration under the terms of UNE's educational licence is there are across campus quantity restrictions.  The University is able to make only one chapter from a commercially available book accessible across campus.  In some cases this means that a chapter required for one unit can't be accessible because another chapter from that book is already being used by a different unit.   If the chapter you want to use can't be included in eReserve for this reason, it can still be supplied to students by alternative means, such as via email, or handed out in print, but it can't be uploaded anywhere else online, such as Moodle.  Your distance students can ask the Library to provide them with a copy using the Services for Distance Students.

You may provide a durable link in your Moodle unit so that each student can individually access the article directly from eReserve. Here's what a book chapter reading can look like in your Moodle Unit.

like, thumbs, thumbs up, up, vote iconKlein, D. R. (2012) Nuclear Magnetic Resonance Spectroscopy in Organic chemistry. Hoboken, N.J., Wiley, Chichester. Chapter 12, pp. 718-759.

CRICOS Provider Code 00003G
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip