Science & EngineeringHumanities & Social SciencesMedicine, Biomedicine & Health
Creative Commons Images AttributionUltimate Creative Commons Attribution guide
This is the "Free Images" page of the "Using Third party content for UNE Units" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Using Third party content for UNE Units   Tags: copyright, education, staff  

Copyright and licensing considerations
Last Updated: Aug 9, 2017 URL: http://une.au.libguides.com/copyrightuneunits Print Guide RSS Updates

Free Images Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Important

Images that are freely accessible on the web, for example found on Google images, can not automatically be used in UNE units.  Checks are required to ensure the images have a compatible licence and they also require attribution.

 

Images sites

foter.com foter hosts over 190 million free Creative Commons images from many online sources for seamless use online.

Search for images by keywords and grab the embed code to insert them into your blog. The embed code contains all necessary CC attribution, that are mandatory to include, so you don’t need to do this manually.

Watch this short video to see how foter works.

flickr

Flickr is an excellent place to find images that are available under a Creative Commons LicenceYou may embed these images on your own website as long as your intended use meets the conditions specified in the licence and that you give proper attribution and credits to the original author.

 Flickr has a page dedicated to help you easily find images that are available under Creative Commons. Or you may use alternative tools like Flickr CC, Flickr Storm and Comp Fight that have a different search interface into Flickr.

Flickr has developed a guide to show you how to manage attribution.

google images  An advanced Google image search allows you to filter by the 'usage rights' and identify  a Creative Commons Licence of your choosing.  The 'usage rights' for CC BY the licence recommended for UNE units are free to use, share or modify, even commercially.

free digital photos net This site   has free photos and illustrations which are ideal for business, personal and educational use.   
The site includes a guide on how to acknowledge the content used. Importantly  if you use a free image you must publish an acknowledgement to FreeDigitalPhotos.net on the same page or screen where the image is used. If you are unable to publish an acknowledgement, you must purchase the image

 

PDPics.com is a repository of free public domain pictures

morguefile.com 

Contains high-resolution stock photography images free for either corporate or private use.

Getty images

Thousands of free-to-embed images to choose from.

 

Public Domain

Photograps taken prior to 1955 are out of copyright in Australia, so are in the public domain.

Either of the following two forms of acknowledgement can be used.

public domain image of bridge

This WWII image of HMS Canberra in Sydney Harbour is from the Collection Database of the Australian War Memorial  ID Number: P01869.001


OR

Image copyright: Copyright expired - public domain
Public Domain Mark This image is in the Public Domain

 

Getty Images

Getty Images is a database of over 50 Million images, all free to embed into webpages using Getty's embed tool.

Find out more: The world's largest photo service just made its pictures free to use.

Below is an example of how it will look.  Note:

  • including the links and information at the bottom of the image are a condition of use
  • it is not possible to resize the image.

 

Pixabay

Pixabay photos are officially given over to the ‘public domain’.  However, as always, keeping information about a resource demonstrates to others you’re using the content responsibly and saves confusion down the track about whether the use is permitted.

building

EdiNugraha pixabay.com

Using images in UNE units

Any freely available online images with the appropriate creative commons licence can be embedded into your UNE unit. 

Find an image

To find content that is free to reuse and repost, you can start by searching for Creative Commons licenced content.

Thumbnail cc search

Alternatively, use go directly to image sites, such as those listed in the Left Hand column, and filter for content that suits your purpose.

Which Licence?

CC BY 
is  the Creative Commons licence of choice for UNE units where the use is 'decorative' allowing them to be used in any way at all, so long as the original is attributed.

CC licensed

Attribution 

This guide to help provides some suggestions. See particularly the sections towards the bottom of the resource: Attributing in different mediums and Keeping track of everything you use.

 

robots

Photo credit: AttributionShare Alike Some rights reserved by tedeytan

 

Images with no known copyright restrictions

The Commons is the place to look for images with no known copyright restrictions.

The Commons is Flickr's partnership with nearly 30 publicly-held photography collections from around the world. The participating organisations have selected thousands of historic 'copyright-free' images from their collections and made them available via Flickr.

Photo from the Powerhouse Museum collection, Flickr: The Commons   No known copyright restrictions

 

Used with Permission

See separate tab entitled 'Used with Permission'

 

Icons

There are lots of sites promoting the use of icons for web pages.  Many of them encourage free use.

Here are some for starters:

free icons

 

CSIRO Gallery of Creative Commons Images

CSIRO has provided permission for anyone to freely use, repost and transform the collection’s 4000+ high definition images and videos. The library represents more than six decades worth of environmental, industrial, agricultural and technological research images.

 Find out More

 CSIRO ScienceImageSite

 

CRICOS Provider Code 00003G
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip