Science & EngineeringHumanities & Social SciencesMedicine, Biomedicine & Health
Creative Commons Images AttributionUltimate Creative Commons Attribution guide
This is the "Music" page of the "Using Third party content for UNE Units" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Using Third party content for UNE Units   Tags: copyright, education, staff  

Copyright and licensing considerations
Last Updated: Aug 9, 2017 URL: http://une.au.libguides.com/copyrightuneunits Print Guide RSS Updates

Music Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Free online Print Music

 IMSLP Music Library    The IMSLP Petrucci Music Library is a valuable resource of out of copyright and public domain print music
  • Juilliard Manuscript Collection
  • Hofmeister XIX
  • Mutopia Project
    "... a volunteer-build Web-based collection of musical scores ... the content tends to derive from public domain editions of music from the Baroque, Classic, and romantic eras, along with many hymns and traditional/anonymous pieces ... a handful of more recent pieces appear, mostly contributed by the composers themselves, who tend to be under 40 and unpublished elsewhere." Works have been set using Lily Pond notation software. From M.D. Jenkins II for CHOICE
  • Digitized Score Collection
  • Loeb Music Library Digital Scores Collection
    Harvard University Library's (HUL) Library Digital Initiative has created an expansible resource of scanned images of rare and unique musical scores.
  • Choral Public Domain Library - by Category
  • Choral Public Domain Library - by Composer
  • Hofmeister XIX
  • Classical String Quartet, 1770-1840
    A digitized collection of rare and unusual string quartets not available in modern editions, and for which, in some cases, Duke's Rare Book, Manuscript, and Special Collections Library holds the only copy in North America.
  • U. of Washing Music Library Digital Scores Collection
    Collection includes digital images of manuscript musical scores dating from the 17th through 19th centuries, the majority of the collection comprising 17th- and 18th- century operas, opera excerpts, and other vocal music. The original manuscripts are held in the Music Library's Rare Book Collection and are indexed in RISM A/II. [D. Pierce]
  • Jewish Theological Seminary Library Collection of Jewish Art Music
    105 pieces of sheet music primarily from early 20th century Russia and Central Europe and published by now-defunct presses such as The Society for Jewish Folk Music at St. Petersburg, Juwal, Jibneh and Omanut editions. Composers include Joseph Achron, Mikhail Gnesin, Aleksandr Krein, Moses Milner and Joel Engel.
    The .pdf files are free to download and open to the general public.
    This digitization project was partially sponsored by The American Society for Jewish Music.

  • Early Music Online
    In this project, about a half of the British Library’s holdings of 16th-century anthologies of printed music, as listed in RISM B/I have been downloaded. These volumes contain approximately 10,000 musical compositions, which have been individually indexed. The volumes mainly consist of partbooks of vocal polyphony, but also include some early printed tablatures for keyboard or plucked string instruments. They include music printed in Italy, Germany, France & England.
 

Sites dedicated to a single composer

print music

 

The Tertiary Music Licence

A general guide to using sound, film, radio and music provides guidance for using these resources in UNE teaching settings.  The University has access to Tertiary Music Licence which allows the University to copy music sound recordings within the repertoire of AMCOS and ARIA for the educational purposes of the University.

 

Free online Sound

 Some sites contain a variety of content and you may need to filter to identify royalty-free or public domain resources.

Creative Commons friendly music

 

Note

tip

Always check licences for each clip and ensure you can comply with any conditions that are attached.

Keeping a note of the conditions, with your unit's administation will assist you and future unit coordinators to manage compliance.

CRICOS Provider Code 00003G
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip